Classissimo Festival : Opening Concert 3 August 2018

Since 2007, the Classissimo Classical Music Festival has taken up the bold challenge of offering a high quality poster accessible to all.
Its programming is aimed at enthusiasts and novices alike. Each concert brings together great established artists and young musicians whose talent never ceases to impress. Under the banner of celebration and diversity, Classissimo is the unmissable summer event for lovers of classical music.

As part of the Brussels Summer Festival until 2015, Classissimo is becoming independent in order to benefit from greater visibility and to affirm its anchoring in the cultural landscape of Brussels. With the support and collaboration of the Alderman for Culture and Tourism of the City of Brussels, Classissimo is settling permanently in the sumptuous Théâtre Royal du Parc, rue de la Loi in Brussels, in which a specific installation for Classissimo has been built and fitted out by the City of Brussels.

The 2018 festival, the 12th edition, will be held from 3 to 10 August 2018 in his place of residence, and will offer a programme that is more eclectic, local and festive than ever.
In particular, 2018 will address all facets of classical music: traditional folk music, tango, gypsy music, Kletzmer music, etc…
The theater welcomes 600 spectators, including 400 to 450 in “useful” seats, socially and culturally diverse spectators. Regulars of all ages, faithful since its creation, tourists, some of whom come from France and Great Britain, music lovers and young professionals.

Friday, August 3 – Opening Concert
On Friday 3 August, the International Yehudi Menuhin Foundation presents the opening concert of the Festival Classissimo by welcoming on the stage of the Théâtre du Parc the young Franco-Belgian cellist Camille Thomas, accompanied by the Brussels Chamber Orchestra, orchestra in residence at the Foundation. On the programme for this opening evening: Mozart, Elgar and Dvorak. A dazzling concert featuring an unpublished adaptation of Dvorak’s cello concerto in B minor from an arrangement by Mario Villuendas. On the programme:

“Serenade in D Major ” KV239
. Marcia (Maestoso)
. Menuetto
. Rondo (Allegretto)

E. Elgar
“Serenade Opus 20”

Antonin Dvorak,
“Concerto in B Minor for Cello Op104 (Arr. Mario Villuendas)
. Allegro
. Adagio ma non troppo
. Final: Allegro moderato